top of page

My K12 Story, Journey So Far: Ms Kusum Turan, ICT Mentor & Co-ordinator at DPS Sector 84, Gurugram

SHARING AN INSPIRING AND EVENTFUL JOURNEY OF Ms KUSUM TURAN - A PASSIONATE EDUCATIONIST, AN EDULEADER AND ICT MENTOR & CO-ORDINATOR AT DELHI PUBLIC SCHOOL, SECTOR 84, GURUGRAM.




“If we transform ourselves, we help transform the world.”


Ms. Kusum Turan


My teaching career spans from the Year 1995 –till date. In this span I have seen technology evolving at a much greater pace, from bulky computers to tabs and chrome books, from Pagers to Smart Phones. So I had to keep upgrading myself for latest in technology.


2007-2020:

Approach: Indigenous teachings for cohesive communities

I call it indigenous because they are mostly related to social and ethical issues existing in the society and thus creating awareness among students for cohesive communities.


Teaching-Learning Strategies

Keeping in view that technology integration in curriculum to have a positive impact on student’s learning, I started teaching ICT tools with integrated approach in the form of project based learning and also initiated community learning along with the teaching of ICT tools. I promoted use of ICT tools with some of the strategies:

Ø Gamified Learning

Ø Flipped Classroom

Ø Inclusive Strategies

Ø Collaborative Learning

to support, enhance, and optimize the delivery of information.


Impact

The overall impact of use of ICT in my teaching learning process is that I could engage my students well in creating awareness about :

-Environmental Issues ( Sea and Platic)

-Ethical Issues (Plagiarism)

-Ewaste Management

-UN Sustainable Global Goals

-Resilience Building (Lockdown Learning)


I could expand learning beyond classroom being nominated as Global Learning Mentor (2016-2020) from India and could connect my children with other children across the globe.


I have also promoted coding skills among girl and is still striving for ways and means to encourage girls to opt for computer science stream.



Special Mention: Anushka Panda ( Suncity School, Gurugram India, 2016-2018) used to enthusiastically participate in Code Club activities under my guidance and was a Student Mentor for many other students in the Club.


She was physically challenged but gave logical challenge to many others in her class. I feel proud to be her facilitator.


For classroom learning I have transformed myself from a traditional teacher to a facilitator for 21ST Century learners.



Year 2020: No Lockdown for Learning

An Experience: Creative self-evolution and behavioral transformation as an educator and facilitator/trainer.


Amidst “Black Swan Moment”, fear, uncertainties, challenges and social disconnection, we strongly believed that our minds can still be connected with the hope of reconciliation.


I extended every possible help to my fellow teachers and conducted extensive trainings for entire staff members for online and interactive classrooms.


Beyond that I trained around 300 teachers on www.teacherr.in community for free collaborative tools during lockdown.


As a subject teacher I emphasized on interactive learning along with art integrated activities and resilience building exercises.


Campaigns and initiatives:

I have been campaigning for Global Goals from past few years along with my students to create awareness on issues related to each one of the 17 Global Goals.

I have conducted voluntary ICT classes for students in Government schools and also several trainings for teachers of remote schools in Haryana.


अनुप्रयोग : An initiative to bridge - Digital Divide

Here I practice Self Learning Strategies with my household helper’s children for inculcating basic ICT Skills. I intend to extend learning to anyone and everyone willing to learn.


Achievements:

1. Achieved awards for the following from Microsoft:

- Best Presentation on Collaborative techniques.

- Project on Plagiarism with gamification techniques

- Inclusive project on Plastic reuse


2. Best teacher certificate from “Karo Sambhav” for effective toolkit execution for E-waste Management.


3. IT GURU 2020: Received “Exemplary Contribution Award” from EduNext for effective online

Engagement.




Message : Be Resilient and Supportive. Follow safety measures strictly.


Ms. Kusum Turan

Educator, ICT Mentor & Co-ordinator

Delhi Public School

Plot No. HS-01 , Street No P-01, Sector 84 , Gurugram



Comments


bottom of page