top of page

My K12 Story, Journey So Far : Mrs. Shanoli Ray, Principal of Satyamev Jayate Primary School, Haldia

SHARING AN INSPIRING AND EVENTFUL JOURNEY OF MRS. SHANOLI RAY - A PASSIONATE EDUCATIONIST, AN EDULEADER AND PRINCIPAL OF SATYAMEV JAYATE PRIMARY SCHOOL, HALDIA, WEST BENGAL.




TRANSFORMATION FROM THE CATERPILLAR TO THE BUTTERFLY


“Arise, awake and stop not until the goal is achieved” – Swami Vivekananda


This is my motto of life…. And I am unstoppable!


I am Shanoli Ray, Principal of a CBSE school, SJPS, Haldia, WB. My journey , till now , is truly a journey of transformation from the cocoon to a butterfly!


Born and brought up in Kolkata, West Bengal. I was that shy, introvert girl in my childhood days, who loved to sit at the corner of the house and read books and daydreamed. My daydreams had no boundaries; may be that is what helped me to achieve goals later in life… By the way, I still continue to daydream… because that’s my motivation to soar higher and higher!!


I was a good student all along with much interest to participate in a variety of extra-curricular activities too. Though I was very active in school and college days still I was very shy to communicate with people or expressing my feelings in proper way and was fearful about public speaking.


After completion of my Graduation in Plant Biology, my parents got me married. There was huge difference of mind set and culture in my in-law’s family, initially was tough to adjust. But I decided to learn to adapt myself and sustain. That was the first step of my transformation. I continued with my studies and been able to finish M.A.in Sociology. Then Diploma in Fashion Design, as I have always interest in different creative fields.


After few years, we shifted to Ahmedabad in Gujarat. India is such a versatile country! Each state has its own flavour! Staying there opened a new prospect for me. I started to hone my communication skill. Language barrier helped me to sharp my spoken Hindi and English communication skills .I started to read some books on personality development, watched videos on YouTube about body language and gave a makeover to my personality. I started my career as a Lecturer in Fashion Design at National Institute of Fashion Design, Ahmedabad. That was the stepping stone of my success. Once I started to give lectures, gradually I overcame the fear of public speaking. I became very popular among the students as well as had good rapport with my colleagues and management too. I really enjoyed my tenure there. I realised that it is not as much as who I used to be but about who I chose to be.




After two years we shifted back to Kolkata. My career took a new shape. I joined a neighbourhood school as a high school teacher. Salary was quite low there, but I didn’t bother about that. I am visionary and always try to find positivity in any situation. It was near to my house and I had the opportunity to professionally grow. I completed B.Ed in between and continued with my teaching profession in various ICSE & CBSE schools, including International schools, all over India. I’m very passionate about my works and always enthusiastic about taking extra responsibilities. Hence I was mostly allotted HOD or Academic Supervisor positions in almost all the schools. I grabbed the opportunity of Vice Principal position in 2017 in an ICSE affiliated school, where actually I officiated as the Principal. It was a rural school and I had no prior experience of handling such stakeholders. I researched and learnt a lot during my tenure and finally been able to bring the school to a distinctive position. My consistency paid off.


Due to sudden deterioration of my health condition, I started to find job in residential schools. Finally, on April 2020, joined my present school as Principal. This is an upcoming school in rural area of Bengal. It was the hardest challenge for me to administer the school as the scenario in the education industry suddenly undergo huge transformation because of the immediate effect of the pandemic. A huge responsibility was on me to deliver the best learning culture with limited resources. After seeing the positive learning outcomes among the students, all I can say that I’m successful in overcoming the challenges.


The present pandemic situation has brought drastic changes in our lifestyle. I utilized the period of lockdown by further enhancing my knowledge and skills through some online certificate courses. I’m in the same mode till now. For me learning is a lifelong process. Moreover, I was invited as a panellist/speaker in some national and international Global Summits and webinars, one-to-one talk shows on YouTube &Instagram. Recently, I have been nominated as Executive Member of Global Edu Leaders Forum. I’m also been selected as Ambassador of The Top Person- an International Business, Politics and NGO Magazine. I joined the World Pulse, an online media for women empowerment, as a resource person and I’m a professional member of the Institute of Global Professionals. I even participated in an online campaign to promote usage of technology for the betterment of society. My journey still continues…..For me, sky is not the limit and age is just a number……..


Apart from profession I do find time to pursue my hobbies, like, photography, traveling, blogging etc. These hobbies have helped me develop some life skills as well as people’s skill. I am actively involved in counselling too. I am volunteer of the NGOs CRY and Goonj. We should always find time to do the little things that make us happy as well as make the society a better place to live in.

A leader has to be multitasker and visionary, to become successful. I was not a born leader but developed the necessary skills through patience, perseverance and practice. Honest hard works always pay off. Whichever success I achieve in life I never forget my values and remain humble as well as grateful always. I believe that limits only exist in minds. Anyone can succeed in life, if has a growth mind set, is self-motivated, hardworking and dreamer. Just believe in yourself, set goals and go ahead…. YOU’RE UNSTOPPABLE!


Be positive. We'll overcome this!




Mrs. Shanoli Ray

Principal

Satyamev Jayate Primary School

Brajalalchak, Near BLRO Office, NH-41 P.O. Dakshinchak, Haldia, Purba Medinipur West Bengal 721654


Kommentare


bottom of page