top of page

My K12 Story, Journey So Far : Mr. Prasanna Kumar B G, An Edupreneur & Founder of School Ventures

SHARING AN INSPIRING AND EVENTFUL JOURNEY OF AN EDUCATION ECOSYSTEM STARTUP SCHOOL VENTURES & MR. PRASANNA KUMAR - AN EDUPRENEUR, EDULEADER AND FOUNDER OF SCHOOL VENTURES.




School Ventures – Work In Progress



Mr. Prasanna Kumar B G


Whoever said that “Even the longest journey starts with a single step" is unbelievably true? I strongly feel that the quote came from personal experience, not from knowledge or wisdom.


My journey, too, is no different. It is neither a bed of roses nor a cakewalk. The road I walked through to reach this stage was fully infested with thorns, pebbles, rocks and boulders but I made my way steadily and painfully by taking out all obstacles, roughness to walk upon. No one made a comfortable way for me. Now, after all the years of journey from the start point, I realised that “Endurance is the key to success ".



Come Walk with me. As my story unfurls you will be inundated with a feeling that my story is no less worthy for a biopic for a prospective amateur storyteller.


T H E G E N E S I S


Hailing from a traditional middle class family as the only male child amongst 3 siblings, my focus was not on educational courses but on life-as-a-sport in general. Though I could do MBA it was a directionless journey evidenced by the fact that my sisters could go to national premier institutions whereas I lurked in the comforts of a goal- lacking casual wilderness.


My MBA brought me, yet generously, opportunities in educational marketing sector with organizations like ICFAI, Euro kids, New Age knowledge Pvt Ltd, Pearson Educational services Pvt Ltd etc and reached senior positions soon. The years spent in these organisations made me realise the vagaries of the true real world, cross cultures, importance of interpersonal and intra personal communications required for an entrepreneur besides giving me insights into the niche business areas in education sector which was on an expansion spree pan India, then.


Incidentally, by all means, it was the first eye opener for me to believe the famous saying that”life is an experience to some and an experiment to some". I fall into the latter group.



Sleeves and collars dry cleaners Pvt ltd


F I R S T E X P E R I M E N T.....Running without learning to walk


17 long years with various educational organizations made me a reasonably changed man with reality as the main perspective of life. My overconfidence reduced to confidence, impulses lead way for thinking a while and professional successes made me believe in me. Working with best and mediocre bosses have not taught me a success formula, but, for sure, made me understand how not to be with people and policies if you want to be successful. Introspection signalled me how dissatisfied I was with myself despite I a hit with everybody around was. I decided unless I am on my own I cannot satisfy myself and the best way is to turn into an entrepreneur.


The first venture, with the partnership of IIM alumni was started in 2016........under the name “Sleeves &Collars dry-cleaning Pvt Ltd in Bangalore to cater to the upmarket clients in prominent localities. It was a hit in the market initially as the idea was fresh and interesting. Business was on the rise. Increasing electricity tariffs ,operational problems in managing uneducated and undereducated work force started posing hiccups and I foresaw future magnitude of these problems and sold the company but with a determination to start a new one soon. This time, I thought, should be in known area of expertise.....marketing of educational services.


A bitter lesson is learnt from my experiment as I did not conduct scientific study to observe the business and my idea was not supported by market research and data either for or against.


A basic but great lesson was learnt in hard way.


S C H O O L V E N T U R E S..... My second company.


I ensured that I should not do the same mistake again. Personally I had spent considerable amount of time to observe, study, interact, discuss and debate the pros and cons of the idea of School ventures before launching. I was convinced that my core expertise is marketing. I felt product marketing was less interesting for me than services marketing. Discussions with my friends who were running preschools and many who wanted to enter into this industry, on the lookout for main schools and properties made me identify a niche market area “School real estate portal for buying, selling & leasing of school properties".


During those times the sector was found to be highly unorganised and credible, quality services backed by scientific procedures was lacking and the need of the hour was operating such transactions should be by an experienced educationist who knows the minds of a buyer and seller. Exactly this fitted my bill to launch "School Ventures” High amount of transparency in operations helped the company stabilize in the niche market as a credible and trustworthy service provider and won the hearts of the clients.




E X P A N S I O N O F S E R V I C E S UNDER SCHOOL VENTURES


2018 - 19 were significant for the company as few more service verticals were added to its portfolio. Establishment of K12 schools and preschools on turn-key basis, projects related to development of existing schools as retainer consultant, support to major educational groups with pan India presence in locating suitable land parcels were some of them.


Exclusive stand alone but potential services like project feasibility reports and ROI , parent satisfaction survey , academic audit and SWOT analysis , crucial but need based services and marketing support to selective quality Edu-tech products etc were also added to the portfolio.


This year is also significant in another way, Dr Muralikrishna , a veteran in K12 segment with 22 years of experience has joined the company as COO and business partner. He worked in very senior positions in groups like Narayana , Sri Chaitanya , Edify , Royale Concorde etc.


School ventures in its 6 years of operations are being regarded as a credible consultancy and educational services company all over India. Some of the bigger names from Norway, Sweden, UAE and UK are contracting the company to be the Indian partner for introduction and expansion of their brands.


ACHIEVEMENTS AT A GLANCE


2016 First Milestone reached – 20 Preschools setup

2017 – Scaled up to setting up of K-12 schools, Preschool Orientation Programme conducted for over 400 delegates across India.

2018 – Four Major K-12 project setup completed;

2019 - Dedicated School Real estate portal Launched for Buying, Selling and Leasing of school properties

2020 – Entered Land lease and BTS model catering to major K-12 school chains of India.

2021 – Launched School Ventures educational YouTube Channel


Our Journey in absolute numbers of clients served as on date


Total Preschools Setup – 240

Total K-12 schools Setup -15

Buy, Sell and Lease – 150

Land Lease and BTS - 20



W H A T K E E P S M E G O I N G ?


My customer's satisfaction gives me immense pleasure. The way my customers respect me , treat me , shower kindness on me and the way they own me fills my heart and makes my day worth living. When a deal is reasonably concluded between a buyer and seller in my presence the satisfaction I derive is comparable to a doctor's after performing a successful operation. He is saving one life but I feel I am saving tens' dependent on this business.


M A N Y M I L E S T O G O........


The journey is unending. I aimed for the sky and as on date reached Treetop. Many years to go before I place this company on the pinnacle of glory. I do not rest on laurels. I continue my journey.


T O M A K E T H E L O N G S T O R Y SHORT


* You need not be a topper in education to become a top entrepreneur

* Understanding life is important than understanding subjects.

* Dream big -- Work hard -- You will reach somewhere.

* Never venture something without proper scientific base study.

* Accept failures and learn from mistakes.

* Losing money is preferable to losing self respect.

* Human relations with everybody is your investment for business.

* ANYBODY CAN BECOME AN ENTREPRENEUR but


The one who learns from mistakes become successful.


Prasanna Kumar B G

Founder & CEO School Ventures

703, 22nd A Main Rd,

2nd Sector, HSR Layout,

Bengaluru, Karnataka 560102



Comments


bottom of page