top of page

My K12 Story, Journey So Far: Dr. Shunila Joy Chauhan, Principal Of Orchids the International School

SHARING AN INSPIRING AND EVENTFUL JOURNEY OF DR. SHUNILA JOY CHAUHAN - A PASSIONATE EDUCATIONIST, AN EDULEADER AND PRINCIPAL OF ORCHIDS THE INTERNATIONAL SCHOOL, MUMBAI.



Dr Shunila Joy Chauhan (Principal of Orchids the International School- Mumbai)


I was brought up in a progressive family by a father who served as a dedicated professional in the Reserve Bank of India and a mother who was a teacher and a Principal. I was always encouraged to aspire.

I spent seven of my formative years studying at the IST International school of Tanganyika in Dar Es Salam. It was here that I discovered my calling of being a teacher after being influenced by my French teacher Ms Wamba. Despite undergoing turmoil during the tumultuous years of apartheid, Ms Wamba was a patient and loving teacher who left an indelible mark among her students. After acquiring a Masters of Arts in Economics and Political Science, I embarked on my journey of being an educator by beginning to teach at City International School which was affiliated to the ICSE board in 2003. After teaching Economics, French and English to high school students for five years, I found herself desirous of exploring an environment which offered greater liberty in content and teaching methodologies. I found herself drawn towards the Cambridge board which offered more empowerment. This led to my journey with Vibgyor Group of Schools as an Economics teacher. I traversed a variety of roles at Vibgyor. As a Subject Matter Expert in Economics, I played a key role in developing the curriculum. I also went on to handle academic operations and was responsible for Quality Assurance Guarantee (QAG). After serving Vibgyor Group for almost a decade, I was offered a leadership role which enabled me to mentor other teachers and shape the future of a world class institute. By joining Thakur International IGCSE & A levels as a Principal in 2018, I wore the mantle of being at the helm of a fantastic team comprising teachers and non-teaching staff.


During my brief yet impactful stint of almost three years, I ensured that the school’s vision of ‘Care. Cultivate. Celebrate’ had been completely imbibed by the entire team. I then joined Orchids the International School as the Principal, to enhance my learning and gain a wider perspective due to its PAN India presence. I have always been keen that the young learners in my institute go on to become global citizens who are inquisitive, intelligent and intellectual in their approach towards their own lives and the world.





In my pursuit of learning I was found worthy to be conferred with the following:


The ‘Shining Image of India’ by the Economic Growth Society of India.

The hon D.Litt from Germany, in January 2020 by the International Peace University.

Nation Builder award by Rotary club of India.

Impact Awards by Career Beacon.

International Corona Warrior award by Anti-Corruption Foundation of India.

Acharya Vinoba Bhave Samman Award on World Teacher’s Day by PSquare education.

Sanjeevini Seed of Knowledge award 2020 etc.

Sanjeevini Seed of Knowledge award 2020.

Visionary Principal from international Olympiad of Value System, Health and Wellness from Zenik Olympiad etc.


I also completed the Cambridge online course along with face to face training at different levels in Economics and Global Perspectives.


I believe and am a part of:

- WICCI (Women’s Indian Chamber of Commerce and Industry ) as a Honorary Council Member of Maharashtra Education Policy Council

- City Vice President of Namaste India emagazine

- Collaborator of CWSIR

- Certified speaker and Director of Global RK Quotes Speakers Forum

- Honorary advisor of Alpha School of Life Skills

- Honorary member of INACE.org

- Head of the Board Committee of Rustle Book Club etc


I strongly believe in the empowerment of women through education and breaking down of orthodox barriers which act as a stumbling block to their growth and achieving their full potential. I firmly believe in speaking out against injustice and everything that disrespects women in society. I enjoy volunteering to teach women and children from vulnerable backgrounds. The happiness in the eyes of women who write their name for the first time in their lives is priceless.


Being a Global Goodwill Ambassador I stand firmly against any kind of child abuse. I enjoy taking the musical programme ‘My Body is my Body’ to students where they learn how to say no to any kind of wrong touch.


The education industry is dynamic and therefore educators need to be constantly upgrading themselves. The Indian education system must get aligned with the realities of the job market and focus on developing relevant skills. There are various paths to success, and one must be willing to evolve. One has to be confident about one’s decisions and must focus on working hard to make things happen. The role of children in society have always been of paramount importance in my life. Through my role as an educator, I am able to follow my passion to the fullest.


Message:

A positive outlook will help us to get through this time! Appreciate what you have and smile more!



Dr. Shunila Joy Chauhan

Principal

Orchids international school

Rajasthan Relief society

21/3-A Navjivan Vidyalaya Marg, off Rani Sati toad

Malad East, Mumbai, Maharashtra 400009



Comments


bottom of page